Sakis3G — MAGIC script :)


Hi friends,

(From the sakis3g main site)

What Sakis3G is?

Sakis3G is a tweaked shell script which is supposed to work out-of-the-box for establishing a 3G connection with any combination of modem or operator. It automagically setups your USB or Bluetooth™ modem, and may even detect operator settings. You should try it when anything else fails!

If you are lucky enough, you may be connected 30 seconds after downloading script.

Procedure to install sakis3G:

Open your terminal and login as a root user,
$ apt-get install ppp
$ cd /usr/bin
$ wget ‘http://www.sakis3g.org/versions/latest/sakis3g.gz’
$ echo “dda70fd95fb952dbb979af88790d3f6e sakis3g.gz” | md5sum -c
$ gunzip sakis3g.gz
$ chmod a+x sakis3g

That’s all. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Now just run that “sakis3g” script using

$./sakis3g

Now you can see a graphical window. 🙂 follow that instruction/options. Now you can use your data-card 😉

About Sakis3g : wiki page

Sakis3g main site : http://www.sakis3g.org/

Sakis3g installation:  wiki page

13 thoughts on “Sakis3G — MAGIC script :)

  1. Dear suresh, I got the solution for the above said problem. I reinstalled sakis3g and now everything is ok. Thank you very much.

  2. On my side sakis3g can connect using my e220 modem but I’m unable to surf, I’ve unchecked the work offline option in firefox but still I can’t surf. I will appreciate any help as I’m unable to do anything. I’m using Fedora 15 and network manager doesn’t work either. Last thing the modem works fine in windows but I don’t like doing my business in windows environment. Can anyone please help!

    • Hi Diamond,

      From terminal can you ping with 8.8.8.8? If its pinged go to “/etc/resolv.conf” file and change the nameserver into 8.8.8.8 and save it. Now try to connect with internet.

      Let me know the result 🙂

  3. Hi Tha.Suresh and thanks for the response but when you say I should change the name server do you mean the dns server or should I add something in this “resolv.conf” file as I’ve changed the DNS1 to what you suggested but still I can’t surf. For the practical simplicity here’s how my “resolv.conf” file look like:

    # Generated by NetworkManager

    # No nameservers found; try putting DNS servers into your
    # ifcfg files in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts like so:
    #
    # DNS1=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    # DNS2=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    # DOMAIN=lab.foo.com bar.foo.com

    I await your assistance in this regard.

  4. Sorry again I think I understand, which means I only have to add nameserver 8.8.8.8 after the words #Generated by NetworkManager. OK I’m going to do that and I’ll let you know the results as I’m in the internet cafe…

  5. Tha.Suresh

    Thanks a lot man everything is working fine, I’m writting this reply using my laptop. Another plus reason why I love GNU/Linux than everyhting else out there, spread the love…

  6. I don’t mean to be troublesome but is there a way I can make it change automatically to the nameserver 8.8.8.8 when I get connection without me having to visit “resolv.conf” and do it manually?

    • Hi Dinmond,

      In ubuntu there is a package “resolvconf” to automate the “resolv.conf” file. But I guess this package unavailable in Fedora. I’ll search and let you know shortly.

Leave a Reply

